Formula Feeding is Easy

I came across this article and thought it was very interesting in what is all takes to formula feed compared to breastfeeding. I was also surprised to learn that formula fed babies consume 30,000 more calories than breastfed babies by the time they are 8 months old. The article says this is a factor contributing to childhood obesity. Never force a baby to finish a bottle — no matter the substance. Babies stop eating when they are full and naturally do not overeat (if we could only carry this trait with us to adulthood). This is even true as they enter toddlerhood. A child’s stomach is only as big as their sweet little fist. 

Related Articles:

  • Breastmilk contains stem cells
  • Breastfeeding makes top 10 list of cancer preventers
  • Breastmilk cures
  • Can breastmilk cure cancer?
  • BPA-free milk storage, bottles and sippy cups
  • Pregnant women told to avoid BPA
  • What if I want to wean my baby?
  • Breastfeeding Language
  • Importance of Breastfeeding
  • Disturbing news about ARA / DHA in infant formula
  • Advertisements

    5 responses to this post.

    1. Posted by Jennifer on March 3, 2008 at 7:17 pm

      I asked a friend of mine who is a pediatrician specializing in pediatric nutrition/obesity. He said that it is totally false that children who are fomula-fed are more prone to childhood obesity and that 30,000 number is totally unfounded. He also said that in some cases, forumla-fed babies have a better level of nutrition b/c many mothers don’t have a healthy diet.

      In addition, I don’t see how you could say that formula feeding is “easy”. It takes the exact amount of time…more if you consider that you actually have to prepare the bottle, buy the formula, clean the bottles, etc.

      Reply

    2. Posted by Dorothy on March 3, 2008 at 8:04 pm

      The title is sarcasm. It is pointing out that it is actually more difficult to use formula then it is to breast feed.

      Reply

    3. Posted by Trisha on March 4, 2008 at 9:53 am

      Jennifer, thanks for your comments. Dorothy is right, the title is sarcasm and that was the title the author used for the article, so I kept it.

      There is a good amount of research suggesting that formula-fed babies are more prone to childhood obesity. But even breastfeeding no way protects a child 100% from becoming obese. I personally think genetics and upbringing play a larger role than breastfeeding or formula feeding does. And no idea where the 30,000 number came from. This article is the first I had heard of it and honestly, it seems a little high to me as well. But I guess it came somewhere. I am going to dig a little deeper and see if I can find where it came from.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Reply

    4. Posted by Patti on March 5, 2008 at 9:54 am

      I personally have done both, breastfeed and bottlefeed. When I breastfed, I did so on demand which is like chaining yourself to your child. They ate constantly, and nursed until they were between 2 and 3 years old and I had to force weaning in each (of 3 ) cases. So breastfeeding can be more difficult if you do it that way. I always said I’d pump and schedule feedings with the next one but never did. The fact that it was so convenient to feed whenever and wherever, it kept me from getting organized. I bottlefed my first one (before the 3 breastfed) and despite her chronic ear infections until age 3, I decided to do it again with number 5. I figured the chronic ear infections could have been due to the overprescribing of antibiotics they did back in the day and have since learned better. It took some switching of formulas in the beginning with number 5 but she seems to be doing well. She has been very healthy other than a few typical seasonal illnesses. At first she ate less than the doctors said she should be taking in. Though her weight was low on the scale it didn’t drop off too much either. After nine months and a stomach flu she began to increase her intake but went on strike with solids. She’s almost a year and still on strike with solids. I’m not worried since I know she’s healthy and continues to thrive. My one breastfed son had a strong gag reflex so he didn’t start solids until after one also. The bottom line is to feed them until they are full, not until the bottle is empty. I’ve stuck with that and my doctors never were too alarmed by her weight so we’ve been fine. The only “un”easy part of bottlefeeding is the having to go out and buy it constantly and, of course, the price.

      Reply

    5. Posted by Trisha on March 26, 2008 at 1:17 pm

      Jennifer, I stumbled upon this study which states that breastfeeding for 6 months or more reduced the risk of overweight and obesity by 30% and 40% respectively. Very interesting, and I did not expect it to be that high. While other factors certainly play a role in being overweight or obese, this study does show that breastfeeding can help prevent it, of course, like most things, this too is not a 100% guarantee.

      Here is the study http://nutrition.ucdavis.edu/briefs/Issues/SepOct99.htm#does

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

