If you formula feed or plan to, please read. Very important information that could impact your baby’s health.

Infant Formula Manufacturers Again Under Ethical Cloud
“Marketing Gimmick” Linked to Serious Infant Illnesses

ARLINGTON, VIRGINIA: A report released today by The Cornucopia Institute presents research indicating that new additives placed in infant formula are seriously endangering the health of some formula-fed newborns and toddlers.

The report, Replacing Mother—Imitating Human Breast Milk in the Laboratory, details research questioning the alleged benefits of adding “novel” omega-3 fatty acids, produced in laboratories and extracted from algae and fungus, into infant formulas. The additives raised health and safety red flags during preapproval testing while aggressive marketing campaigns by some infant formula manufacturers appear to have encouraged new mothers to give up nursing for the questionable infant products.

Read more

Additionally, The Cornucopia Institute is urging parents of infants who have reacted negatively to formula with DHA and ARA to report these adverse reactions to the FDA’s Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program. Reports can be submitted online by following this link: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/medwatch/medwatch-online.htm.

I do not see this as a breast vs. bottle issue. This is truly a question of ethics. Toxic substances are being used in food made for babies and this is not acceptable!! Mothers who can’t breastfeed or choose not to should not have to fear that what they are feeding their baby is toxic. It is just so sad that these formula companies have everyone fooled. Yes, breastfeeding is the best and natural way to feed your baby, but no one should be “fooled” by such a gimick.

If your baby is having stomach issues and is taking a formula with these substances, switch to a formula that does not contain these substances and see if the condition improves.

UNICEF and the WHO recommends breastfeeding exclusively for the first 6 months of life (no water, juice or other foods) and offer complementary foods thereafter until at least age 2. The American Academy of Pediatrics also agrees and supports breastfeeding for as long as mutually desired by the mother and child.

Related Articles:

  • Breastmilk contains stem cells
  • Breastfeeding makes top 10 list of cancer preventers
  • Breastmilk cures
  • Can breastmilk cure cancer?
  • BPA-free milk storage, bottles and sippy cups
  • Pregnant women told to avoid BPA
  • What if I want to wean my baby?
  • Breastfeeding Language
  • Formula feeding is easy
  • Importance of Breastfeeding
  • Disturbing news about ARA / DHA in infant formula
  • 6 thoughts on “Disturbing news about DHA / ARA in infant formula

    1. yuck! i have never been drawn to these formulas because i don’t trust these companies in the first place. their top priority is the bottom line of making money, not our children’s health.

      i give my 8-month-old cod liver oil as a supplement (for the great fatty acids and DHA, etc), and it’s becoming more necessary as i just weaned off breastmilk completely yesterday. another great supplement with these great fats is egg yolks (no whites, as babies can’t digest the proteins). my daughter is too sensetive and can’t eat them yet, but they are very digestible for most children.

      one formula company i trust is Nature’s One. we use their baby’s only organic dairy-based toddler formula. it’s great they call it “toddler” formula because while it’s perfectly suited for even newborns (of course mommy milk is BEST!), they encourage breastfeeding so they don’t try to manipulate you in the advertising.

    2. Well….I agree, I think that Similac Advance w/ FHA+ARA is bad for my baby. I went yesterday to the store to buy Similac Alimentum, because this formula doesn’t have FHA…I COULDN’T AFFORD BYING IT, is $27.99 for the small can. Why the Goverment allow this BIG COMPANIES TO FORCE PEOPLE TO BUY THEIR “GOOD AND MAGIC FORMULA” because that’s exactly what is happening.
      I WILL DO THE SAME I WILL BUY NATURE’S ONE ALSO. EVEN THOUGH…THEY ALSO HAVE FHA, BUT AT LEAST IS MORE NATURAL THAN SIMILAC. WHAT i REALLY WANT IS ONE W/O FHA OR ARA. I DIDN’T DRINK FORMULA W/ THOSE MAGIC INGRDIENTS…MY HUSBAND EITHER…IM AN ARCHITECT AND HE IS A LAWYER. I DON’T THINK THAT FHA OR ARA WILL MAKE YOUR BABY SMART. IS ALL BS AS FAR I’M CONCERN.

    3. I’m sorry, I was so upset yesterday.
      I ment to write DHA and ARA in comment posted August 6, 2008 at 1:32 pm instead of FHA, sorry.

    4. Carolina, I understand your frustration. I have a lot of frustration with companies who put their bottom line above the health and well-being of consumers, especially infants and children. I breastfed my daughter until she weaned recently at 27 months. So I did not use formula, but I am not agaist formula — it does serve a purpose and babies who need it should be able to get it without toxins and harmful substances.

      I have heard of Nature’s One and hear it’s good stuff. I believe they market it for babies over 12 mo (though its fine for infants as well), because they do encourage and support breastfeeding, unlike most formula companies. I think this shows they are looking out for the best interest of consumers.

      Good luck!

    5. I don’t like what I’ve found out so far about dha and ara. Baby’s Only uses the egg yolk for their dha and ara. I don’t understand why companies aren’t using the yolk. Why does things always have to come about through labs

    Leave a comment