No. Apparently it is not. Which explains why it’s so cheap and why Wal-Mart sells it. I had a friend tell me about this who read it somewhere, so one to never just take anyone’s word for it, I did a little research and found that Horizon is NOT organic, just as my friend had said. No Horizon products for this house.

horizon1It’s really a shame as the Horizon brand is the number 1 selling organic brand of milk. Dean Foods bought Horizon, as well as Silk brand soy milk. Aurora Organic milk has also been pointed out as labeling themselves organic when they are really not.

How do they get away with this? For one, they are lobbying to reduce the standards set forth for organic products to lower them to a more conventional standard. Uh, then what’s the point of “organic?” Until then, they are claiming that their animals have access to open pasture and to them, that’s good enough to call themselves organic. The truth is, their farms do not allow enough pasture for the number of cows they have. When reporters or other important folks visit one of their operations, some cows do see the pasture.

Just proves that if it sounds to good to be true, it probably is. Horizon is by far much cheaper than any other organic brand of milk I have come across. I had wondered how they were able to do this and now I know why. If you really want organic milk, DO NOT buy Horizon! If their sales weaken, they will realize consumers will not stand for just an organic label — we want a real organic product!

Click here to read the full story.

Related Articles
How to save money at Whole Foods
Grass fed beef is healthier
Is your organic food really organic?
Eating healthy with the rising cost of groceries

8 thoughts on “Is Horizon Milk really organic?

  1. I had just read this about Horizon when a big study came out on the integrity of organic milk. It’s a shame that consumers cannot trust the product labels. My family drinks Heritage Foods Organic Milk. It was given 4 cows (very good!) in the study I mentioned, and it was voted Best Tasting Organic Milk. We definitely need to send a message to companies like Horizon and support the businesses that are willing to meet high standards for organic and healthy products. Thanks for getting the message out there!

  2. I know that you posted this forever ago….BUT, thought I would try anyway! Do you know if Publix brand-milk is as good as organic? I know they don’t use the hormones. But other than that, is there a difference?

    1. Alison, thank you for your question. Yes, there is a big difference and I am working on an article for this, so stand by, I will post it in the next couple days. I’ve gotten a bit behind with 2 kids, working and house projects! Thanks

  3. think outside the box – research and try other milk products like rice milk, soy milk, goat’s milk, almond milk, etc. why is our culture so tied to cow’s milk?

Leave a comment