Hello and welcome to my blog! This is my first entry so let me explain why I decided to start a blog. Over the years, more and more studies have shown that many products we interact with everyday contain harmful chemicals that have been linked to all kinds of diseases and disorders. I can’t remember exactly how it started, but I think with learning that aluminum has been linked to Alzheimer’s disease. So off I went to Google some information. Since I have found out many things about pesticides on our food, antibiotics and growth hormones used in animals, chemicals used in baby bottles, animal by-products used in skincare products, preservatives used in skincare products and food, harmful chemicals used in cleaning products, baby wipes and diapers being whitened with bleach, and many other astounding things.

I am amazed at how oblivious we are to what is in the products we use everyday. What’s even more amazing is that in the US, these companies are under no obligation to provide a full ingredient list or list the possible risks associated with ingredients or components used to make their product. I find this unacceptable. And the only way for me to find out the truth is to research. And through this blog I intent to share what I learn.

I do have 2 children so I am very concerned for them. Babies are so small and these harmful chemicals, pesticides, by-products, etc., affect their systems much more quickly and at even smaller amounts than they would adults. 

Not to say that I will not get cancer, but by avoiding products whose ingredients are PROVEN to cause cancer, I can at least minimize my risk and hopefully save my family from the same. Cancer, Parkinson’s, Alzhiemer’s and other debilitating diseases are on the rise, so are the amount of chemicals we encounter everyday (and most of the time do not know it!)

By having this blog, I hope get people to think about what is in the products they use and how it affects their health. Hopefully it will encourage you to think about these things and make a few changes in your life. I also hope that companies will start being more responsible and at MINIMUM publish a full ingredient list (including those that may be created during processing) and also potential risks associated with them. We have a right to know what we are putting in or on our bodies. My greatest hope is that the government will step in to protect its citizens from these hazardous chemicals.

Thanks for reading and come back soon!

Trisha

2 thoughts on “Welcome to My Blog!

  1. Yanina,

    First, congrats on the new addition! Babies are a wonderful thing and good for you to question products you are using around her. It will certainly help give her a better start to life.

    I have not done a ton of research on purchasing used toys, but there are a few good guidelines to follow.

    1. The most important thing before purchasing is make sure the item has not been recalled – whether that is a toy or a car seat. Even clothing has been recalled, though this is rare. Do an internet search or look on consumer product safety websites to look for recalls, such as here http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/category/toy.html.
    2. If they are older toys, they are likely not following current safety guidelines, so there may be small parts or long string that could cause a chocking hazard. Good example, the old school Fisher Price Little People.
    3. If you are not sure of the recommended age, check the manufactures website. You may think it is age appropriate for your child, but the item may have small parts that you are not aware of that could cause harm to your child.
    4. Inspect the item to ensure there are no lose or missing pieces that your child can choke on or be harmed by them.
    5. Wood toys are considered safer because they do not have the harmful fumes/particles as plastic toys. It seems to me they are less likely to contain lead.
    6. Disinfect all toys or other items before allowing your child to use them. Especially important if these are toys your child will put in his mouth.
    7. For clothes, wash everything thoroughly before dressing your child in them. Inspect the clothes for any holes, etc. I personally would not recommend used personal products like underwear, but that is just me.
    8. A little common sense goes a long way too. If you are in doubt, don’t buy it.

    For organic clothing, there is debate over how much better it really is. Organic cotton is usually softer, not treated with pesticides and is often unbleached. I think it is a personal choice. Either way, cotton is the best choice when selecting clothes for your baby. Its softer and allows the skin to breathe naturally. Avoid synthetic fibers that can be irritating.

    As for China made toys and clothes, if you can avoid them, its not a bad thing. But considering a vast majority of toys and clothes are made there, it stands to reason there will be more recalls from there. Although avoiding China made products will send a message to shape or or we will send our business elsewhere.

    Good luck!

    Trisha

    Trisha,
    thank you for your blog and all the info you share. I have 3 weeks-old baby and joining the ranks of “concerned parents” who want to make right choices… I was wondering if you had come across any information of safety of used non-organic regular clothing and toys. I’ve heard some people suggesting to buy used things – they will have most of the harmful plastic and pesticide stuff released in prior uses. What is your research or opinion on used non-organic and China-made clothing, fabrics and plastic toys? Thank you very much. Yanina

Leave a comment