Today’s bento lunch box: ham in pita pocket

There is nothing wrong with a sandwich now and then, but I like to keep it interesting and not use too much bread. So today was a ham pita pocket. Normally, I would add romaine, tomatoes and mayo, but my daughter is slightly picky at certain things and just wants ham and mustard, much like her mommy at that age! 🙂

With her pita pocket, I included grapes, a gingerbread man shaped watermelon slice, some fresh green beans and marinates asparagus. Our treat was a bit of pumpkin pie. She LOVES the asparagus. You can easily cut the asparagus into 1 inch sections and marinate in Garlic Expression dressing, however, I didn’t have time to go get this, so I created my own knock off version. I used roughly 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar, 1 tbls olive oil (canola may be better), 1 large minced garlic clove, salt, pepper, onion powder and celery seed to taste. I whisked it all together and let the asparagus marinate until we were ready to eat. She loves it!!

20121017-112832.jpg

See other lunch box ideas.

Keep checking back daily for more healthy lunch ideas.

Leave a Reply

