The health effects of Lysol

When my kids get sick, I want to reach for the Lysol spray, just as my mom did and as the marketers of Lysol tell me I should. But is it safe?

The Wiki page on Lysol states this:

The active ingredient in many of the Lysol products is benzalkonium chloride.[1] This ingredient is highly toxic to fish (LC50 = 280 μg ai/L), very highly toxic to aquatic invertebrates (LC50 = 5.9 μg ai/L), moderately toxic to birds (LD50 = 136 mg/kg-bw), and slightly toxic (“safe”) to mammals (LD50 = 430 mg/kg-bw).

The former main chemical ingredient wass cresol, which does have toxicity at some levels. This version is still available commercially. Breathing high levels over a short period of time can cause irritation to the nose and throat. I experience this every time I spray Lysol. And though there is known toxicity at “high” levels, small exposure over a long period of time has not been studied.

In addition, there are other chemicals including Glycol Ethers, O-phenylphenol, formaldehyde and hydrochloric acid that all have health concerns. It is also important to note that Lysol’s formula is considered proprietary, thus the ingredients list may not be fully disclosed. Wonder what else is in there? Possibly phthalates since fragrances are used and these 2 typically go hand-in-hand, but again show knows?

Does this sound like something you want to spray all over your house, furniture, doorknobs, bathroom, nursery, toys, etc? I think I will pass, too.

Daycares overuse Lysol. When my kids were smaller, the thought of my children mouthing toys that have been sprayed so heavily with Lysol there was a film on them made me cringe, of course so did the thought of them mouthing the same toy 11 other babies just mouthed. Ah, the joys of daycare!

Bottom line: really occassional use my have no harmful effects at all (but then again, cummulative exposure has not been studied and chemicals surround most of us every day). Aside from health concerns, there are environmental concerns, like the toxicity to fish, aquadic invertebretes and birds. Concerned parents do have choices. Vote with your wallet! Don’t buy Lysol spray or any Lysol product until their products are reformulated and are truly non-toxic. Vinegar and water will disinfect a toy just as well, without the weird film and chemicals. Not to mention it’s much cheaper. You can also make your own disinfectant spray in seconds! I love it and am much happier with it than Lysol. Is smells so fresh – like a spa – and has no chemicals in it! It disinfects and it is something I actually want to smell!

8 responses to this post.

  1. [...] Health Concerns of Lysol LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

    Reply

    • Posted by lila on February 29, 2012 at 8:38 pm

      I am so sick today when someone sprayed lysol in the bathroom, I couldn’t work and my head is hurting, my throat is sore and I feel weak all over. It should be banned.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Brianna on April 12, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Exposure to any chemical is not good. There are many effective ways to clean without even chancing exposure. Formaldehyde for example is a none carcinogenic yet is found in everything fromshampoo to lysol. There are natural products that are just as effective yet safe to use.
    Melaluca

    Reply

  3. Posted by Hannah R. on February 9, 2012 at 9:47 am

    Have you heard of Norwex?? I just learned about it a couple of months ago, and it is a FAR better alternative to Lysol and other typical household cleaners. They make a super fine microfiber that has silver infused into the fibers! Silver is a natural antibacterial agent, and all you have to use is water and the cloth!! I’ve even done restaurant grade tests to see if they got rid of bacteria, and the tests come clean every time!! If you interested in learning more, go to http://www.hannahrice.norwex.biz …I’m never looking back! :)

    Reply

  4. Posted by joanna on September 8, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    My beautiful 14 month baby girl got a terrible case of the hives because of thist terribly toxic product. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will tell everyone I can about this poison.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Camille on December 28, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    I used Lysol wipes at work to clean my desk today. I noticed the wipes were really wet, from the bottom of the can. Immediately after I cleaned my desk, my stomach became upset. I still feel sick and it’s been 4 hours now. Lysol is nasty. I will never use it again.

    Reply

  6. Since I was a kid Lysol would immediately give me a sore throat. After more than twenty years I tried Lysol again thinking that it must be better and less toxic. Within an hour I had a sore throat and was sick the whole weekend. Not only does it irritate my throat but it seems to have an effect on my immune system and I find that I cannot not resist any colds or flu viruses that come my way. It kind of defeats the purpose of protecting everyone in the house from germs when it seems to attack the balance within.

    Reply

  7. Has anyone else gotten a severe skin problem-—such as severe burning and blisters from using it on a toilet seat, from using Lysol?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

