Easy do-it-yourself eco-friendly disinfectant spray

I just made some of this today and it smells so wonderful! I felt like I was at a spa, even though I had 4 young children (3 in diapers) running around me all morning.

Disinfectant spray
1 ½ cups water
20 drops tea tree oil
20 drops lavender oil
Combine in spray bottle and shake vigorously. Spray in the air to disinfect. Tea tree oil and lavender oil are anti-bacterial, anti-microbial, anti-fungal, anti-whatever!

If you want bonus points, you can up the water (roughly 1/2 – 3/4 cups for every 20 drops of essential oils) and add 20 drops of orange oil, lemon oil and/or eucalyptus oil. These oils also have antiseptic and disinfectant properties. I added the orange oil to the above and wow! Love it!

Making your own allows you to avoid the toxic chemicals found in common disinfectants.

Related Articles

Health Concerns of Lysol

20120721-132157.jpg

6 responses to this post.

  1. What a great mixture. I’ll have to give it a go. Trying to think of something funny to combine diapers, toxic chemicals and creating with four children running around, but can’t. Baby-brain strikes again!

    Reply

  2. I just found your blog from Twitter, it came up as a recommended one on my dashboard to check out! I am so inspired this year to go natural and green, and have been wondering about the lysol. THanks for posting links to the different essential oils. Will be on my purchase wish list once I get the cleaners under my sinks cleaned out. Better for me, my kids, and God’s earth.

    Great blog!
    Thanks,
    Sarah

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anastasia on February 24, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    I am so glad I found your blog! I am also very interested in the subjects you talk about. Do you think dilluting the proportions of the oils can make this spray useable as a “butt spray” for babies? Like, the spray to use with cloth wipes? I buy California Baby Diaper Rash spray, but it’s expensive..

    Reply

  4. Posted by Cate on April 30, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Hi:

    I’ve literally just come across your blog (via a search for BPA free plastics) and I have a quick note to add to your post.

    In my experience, the oil doesn’t mix too well with water (hence the need to shake). In consequence, I usually mix the oils with about a tablespoon on vodka (or rubbing alcohol) and then add this mix to water. NB: I still usually shake the bottle, but that’s probably just habit.

    Cheers from autumnal Melbourne (Australia),
    Cate

    Reply

    • Posted by Trisha on May 25, 2011 at 1:08 pm

      Thanks for the tip. I don’t mind shaking the bottle, but once the kids are a little older, I may try a few drops of alcohol with the essential oils. They like to help squirt the bottle!

      Reply

  5. Love recipes like these! Much better than using harsh chemicals… Here are a few other ones I use- http://epochbydesign.com/blog/diy-organic-kitchen-cleaners/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

