Natural, homemade deodorant recipe

Roughly 7 years ago, I learned that aluminum was linked to Alzheimer’s disease, and even more recently learned of it’s potential link to breast cancer. So I set out to rid my life of aluminum. Aluminum is the active ingredient in most antiperspirants, so I tried several natural deodorants. Some worked better than others, but nothing seemed to work for my husband. He either broke out or smelled. Neither of which was acceptable.

Then I found a homemade recipe that got rave reviews, so I figured, “Why not?”

The recipe is easy to make, inexpensive and it WORKS! My husband is amazed and has been singing the praises of this homemade deo. He has not had any odor issues since using this, even after playing basketball.

Coconut oil has antibacterial properties, so it will not spoil and is likely the main reason this is so effective since body odor is caused by bacteria. I’m just beginning to see all the wonderful uses for coconut oil.

The recipe is very simple:
5-6 tablespoons of coconut oil (use in solid form)
¼ cup baking soda
¼ cup cornstarch or arrowroot powder

Mix together the baking soda and cornstarch (or arrowroot powder) until blended. Add in the coconut oil until you get the same consistency as regular deo. You can store in a lidded container and apply with your fingertips or an empty deodorant container (which is the easiest to use). 

To avoid any redness, I reduced the amount of baking soda just slightly and added some Shea butter (probably 1 tsp – 1 tbls).

Also, check out the comments in the post to find other ideas of things to add. Like a drop or so of tea tree oil for added antibacterial properties, or essential oils for a nice scent.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you for this post! My husband didn’t like the organic deoderant I bought for him so maybe I can make some now.

    Reply

    • Posted by Trisha on February 22, 2010 at 11:13 am

      I hope he likes it as much as my hubby does. He brags about it so much it is almost embarrassing! LOL Thanks for visiting. I love your site as well! :)

      Reply

  2. Posted by ss on April 21, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Great blog! I found you through BBC :)

    I make this for myself, I love it, been using it for a while now… I made it with olive oil becase I was out of coconut oil… it works great, the only thing is I have to keep it in the fridge to keep it solid.

    Reply

  3. [...] Natural, homemade deodorant recipe В« greener, healthier living Natural, homemade deodorant recipe. February 10, 2010 В· Filed under Adult Health , Product Review, … [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

