Nontoxic backpacks for back to school

I found this article with a great list and some tips for selecting non-toxic backpacks for back to school. My daughter is just 2, so I have not looked into this, but lucky for those who do have school-aged children, someone has already done the research for safe back pack options.

“While Congress has recently voted to ban toxic lead and phthalates from toys,  the legislation does not cover children’s backpacks, many of which are made of vinyl containing both toxic substances. Lead, high exposures of which cause learning problems (not so cool for back to school) and phthalates, linked to obesity and lower sperm counts, readily migrate out of vinyl and onto children’s fingers, and thence into their mouths. Phthalates also evaporate into the air and get inhaled; studies have shown they contribute to asthma and other respiratory problems in children.

When shopping for backpacks, make sure they’re PVC-free at a minimum, and made of recycled materials to get an E (for eco and excellence) plus. Here are some recommendations.”

Related Articles
PVC and Lead-free lunch boxes

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by knucchi on August 12, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Wow – thanks for the info! I never thought I’d have to worry about toxic backpacks for my preschooler… geez

    Reply

  2. Posted by toohipmum on August 12, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    Thanks for posting vital information about toxins in children’s backpacks. I had no idea that the vinyl in most backpacks children take to school contains toxic materials that spread so easily. I appreciate the links in this post that give parents places to get ‘vinyl’ free or ‘pvc’ free backpacks.

    Reply

  3. Posted by dallasmom on August 23, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Just bought an affordable backpack from Target that’s PVC free. It’s Trans by Jansport. Retails at about $30. Wanted to share with others.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Trisha on August 26, 2008 at 10:20 am

    dallasmom, thanks for sharing. I did not see anything online about it being PVC-free — I believe you though! I was also checking to see if I could find if it was lead free. I would caution parents to look out for lead in backpacks as well. Thanks for the info!

    Reply

  5. according to CHEH Jansport is PVC free….

    Reply

  6. OOps!! CHEJ not CHEH

    Reply

  7. If I don’t get an answer by tomorrow, I’ll just send a
    copy of my driver’s license in with this claim form and hope that the sponsor will contact me directly if there is an issue of me proving I am me. Phuket is undoubtedly the best gift by the Mother Nature to the mankind. For many reasons this group are the ones that eat of out boxes and bags.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

